Tuesday, December 29, 2015

What Should You Read After Finishing the Harry Potter Series?

 photo FINAL_Pottermas.png

J.K Rowling has written one of the most popular series ever known to man. Not only has all the books been translated into many languages but all the books have been adapted into films. One of the things I love that Rowling includes in her books is the portrayal of strong female characters. What happens when you finish reading the Harry Potter series? Well check out the following books if you enjoy the Harry Potter series. Also, check out Elizabeth from Book YAbber's list as well!

Middle grade series with the adventure and magic!

The Magisterium series by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare
Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan
The Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan
The School for Good and Evil series by Soman Chainani
The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel by Michael Scott
Artemis Fowl series by Eoin Colfer
The Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordan
His Dark Materials trilogy by Phillip Pullman
Redwall series by Brian Jacques

YA series with strong, kick-ass females:

The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins
The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare
The Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare

Whimsical stand alone novels:

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass by Lewis Carroll
Stardust by Neil Gaiman
Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

What are some of your favorite books that are similar to Harry Potter? What features of the Harry Potter series you would like to see in other books?



Check the blog back on Thursday, December 31st for a discussion about Harry Potter and the Deathly HallowsIf you are new to Pottermas 2015, make sure to check out this post. Also, you can follow Pottermas 2015 on social media with the hashtag #Pottermas15.


2 comments:

  1. Love this post. These are great suggestions including a lot of middle grade books I haven't read. I'll have to remember them for future recommendations. One of my current go-to recs to read after HP has been The Screaming Staircase by Jonathan Stroud.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you! I have to check out The Screaming Staircase! I heard about it before but haven't really looked into it.

      Delete